Life, death & a little old lady

I’ve been thinking about life a lot lately. Being that I just buried my grandmother less than two months ago, thoughts about life and death are fresh on my mind.

I strongly believe that her life REALLY counted. It meant something. Her one life was able to impact the lives of so many others. Her children, grandchildren and subsequently even her great grandchildren are beneficiaries of her love and wisdom. Grandma was someone who never pulled any punches but also never turned away a person in their time of need.

She overcame in the midst of extraordinary circumstances. Forced into quitting school in second grade in order to help support her family was just the start of a life filled with the unpredictable.

Life has so many twists and turns, doesn’t it? It throws us curve balls and catches us off guard.

I believe that one of the universal truths is that every person wants to make a difference (even if that is deep down). We want to impact the world. Most people want that impact to be positive.

If, at the end of it all, it can be said that I faithfully served God, loved others and made even the smallest positive dent on those around me then my life has counted for something.

What are you living for today? In ten years will what you are working for today still matter? I pray that it does!

Leave a Reply

