My daughter’s eyes

image

In my daughters’s eyes I see so much. Infinite hope, unending love, unashamed passion. There is no fear of rejection, no lack of trust.

In their eyes, Dustin and I provide whatever they need almost instantaneously. There is never a question about whether they will have food, drinks or clothing. There is no wondering how hard we will make it on them.

They need. We respond. No questions asked. Because that is what good parents do. Respond to the needs of their children. Protect them from pain. Love them until it hurts.

Yet somehow as adults we lose this faith. We over analyze, doubt and fear. We question and try to figure out ways to earn every little thing.  This is in direct contrast to what Jesus teaches us.

The gift God has given through Jesus is that of a loving father to a child. The best gifts are not a product of anything we could do (grace says we get what we DON’T deserve).

Put on the eyes of a child, even if it’s just for a day. I challenge you to come to Jesus as such. Ignore the doubts and fears and come expecting. Expect unconditional love, forgiveness and the best He has to offer.

I guarantee our Father knows how to give good gifts!

5 thoughts on “My daughter’s eyes

  1. My daughter is seven weeks old, and I just posted this as my status on facebook on Halloween: “I’ve learned more about what it means to be a child of God in the time since becoming a parent than in all the time leading up to it.” Seems we were on the same wavelength 🙂

Leave a Reply

