Wait for it..

Isaiah 56:1 says “This is what the LORD says: ‘Be just and fair to all. Do what is right and good, for I am coming soon to rescue you and to display my righteousness among you.”

I believe that so many times, when our backs are up against the proverbial wall, we give up right before God blesses us. We pray for help, for a savior, for someone, ANYONE to stand up for what is right and as He is inches away from saving us we let go and try to swim to safety.

I do believe that there are times when God asks us to DO. And trust me, EVERYTHING in me says “it needs to be done.” I am not a wait-around-and-see kind of girl. I’m the one who sees what must be done and fixes it. I don’t like waiting and I definitely do not like being at the mercy of others.

But so many times, God has us at His mercy. Which is right where He wants us. You see, He doesn’t like or want to share the spotlight with anyone (including us). But our pride says we can do it all. Our pride also tells us that we should not have to wait to see the end result.

I’m so thankful, however, for a God who crushes our pride to pieces in order to remind us that it isn’t about where we end up, or how we get there. It is all about learning to trust God throughout the journey.

The WHERE is just a bonus. Finding a real relationship with Christ as we wait and allow Him to do the rescuing is what counts. And He is so faithful to rescue us. Every time. Paul reminds us in Romans that nothing can ever separate us from His love. And His love is what spurs us on.

Today I challenge myself first and foremost to remember to trust God. Remember to hold on God decides to swoop in. Because He will swoop in and we will be taken from glory to glory (that is, His glory not ours).

Leave a Reply

