A Letter To Myself

Dear 16 year old me,

I want so badly to wrap my arms around you as you are sitting there alone. I know you think that no one sees you but in time you will find the One who was always there.

Dear 16 year old me,

Please know that not all men treat girls the way you’ve been treated. There are some men who really do love Jesus. Their love for Jesus leads them to respect others!

I know that you want the boy you are dating now to love you but please know that it isn’t his fault. He was never meant to love you the way you deserve to be loved. God has someone special for you. Because even though you don’t realize it now, you deserve someone special.

Dear 16 year old me,

I know that more than anything else you just want to be seen. Really seen. The time is coming when the hurt will be healed & you will be seen in a way that you never thought possible.

I know that you have wounds right now. Wounds that are so painful, it makes it difficult to even stand up. There’s something I’ve learned about wounds, though. They heal. Some wounds are deep enough that they leave some serious scars but there is beauty in those scars. They show the road you walked and how masterfully your Healer put you back together.

Dear 16 year old me,

Please hold on. Your time is coming. The life you knew will be forever changed by a love you could only have imagined. A Love that will lead you to understand your worth. A love that will show you the scars He bore so that you could be healed. Your scars will pale in comparison to those in the most beautiful way.

Dear 16 year old me,

Trust me, the long road, the hurt and pain. It is all leading you to the greatest most beautiful adventure. A life beyond anything you could imagine.

Just hold on, honey. Your time is coming.

Open Letter Campaign
2 thoughts on “A Letter To Myself

  1. This has me in tears because I could write the same letter to 16 year old ME. Oh wow. Just remembering that lonely place of lost brokenness… so hard. But then again so amazing because I know what happened after 16 — God blew in and turned my world right side up. Praise God for redemption!! Thank you so much for linking up today!!! ❤

    • Thank you so much!
      I’ve been praying about what to write & have actually been smacked with memories of that time so many times this week.
      God is so good to bring healing and restoration. He does it like no other!

Leave a Reply

