Purpose for My Troubles

For our present troubles are small and won’t last very long. Yet they produce for us a glory that vastly outweighs them and will last forever! So we don’t look at the troubles we can see now; rather, we fix our gaze on things that cannot be seen. For the things we see now will soon be gone, but the things we cannot see will last forever. (2 Corinthians 4:17, 18 NLT)

I’m so grateful that in the mere 8 1/2 years I’ve had this relationship with Christ, I’ve seen this play out in my life over and over again.

There are times when the weight of life seems too heavy to bear. Times when the heartbreak seems overwhelming and when we feel as though we can no longer stand the adversity that is coming our way.

I am so thankful though, that those times do not last forever. I am equally thankful that those times produce in us a renewed sense of faith, a renewed hope in Jesus and a love for others who will walk where we have walked.

You see, by God’s grace, He allows us to share in others pain just as people come up & help us get through ours.

I’m not sure what you may be facing today. I’m not sure what you faced last week, last month or last year but this one thing I know: If you will hold onto Jesus, you will find all that you have need of.

He has a plan for you and it is crazy good. This plan includes having an intimate relationship with Christ and sometimes He will use hard times to draw you closer to Himself. Let me tell you something.. If that is all that comes from the hardship, it will be worth it.

“He will not fear bad news; his heart is confident, trusting in the Lord.” (Psalms 112:7 HCSB)

What I’ve learned is that God is multi faceted and works on several levels simultaneously. He can use your situation to help you grown in several areas as well as helping someone else grow in their walk too! I don’t pretend to know it all, but I know that God has a plan for it. Take your eyes off the issue and put them back where they belong – on the God who holds it all together for you!

Leave a Reply

