To love anything

C.S. Lewis said “To love at all is to be vulnerable. Love anything and your heart will be wrung and possibly broken. If you want to make sure of keeping it intact you must give it to no one, not even an animal. Wrap it carefully round with hobbies and little luxuries; avoid all entanglements. Lock it up safe in the casket or coffin of your selfishness. But in that casket, safe, dark, motionless, airless, it will change. It will not be broken; it will become unbreakable, impenetrable, irredeemable. To love is to be vulnerable.”

Loving anyone makes us vulnerable to being hurt. Sometimes it ends well but sometimes… not so much.

Love is a choice to put ourselves on the alter of life and down off of our own pedestals. It is scary and it is a risk but the pay offs are so big.

Ask anyone who has a restored marriage, anyone who has had failed attempts to conceive but then one attempt or an adoption brought children, anyone who’ve had failed adoptions to go on and expand their families.. These people would admit that the risk is worth it! Even those who have loved and lost would agree that the lessons in love make it worth it, even if it was too short.

Anyone who has lived on this earth for any amount of time will tell you that choosing love is the scariest, most fulfilling path to walk down.

I don’t claim to have all the answers. Shoot, the more I find out, the more I realize I don’t really know all that much but I know the One who holds it all in His hands. And I trust Him with my heart.

Because when I am following Him, I know that all the broken pieces can become something beautiful in His hands.

I would rather risk big in love than live a safe life of misery. And a life without love is surely a life of misery.

As we end 2013 and start 2014, I am encouraged to risk big, believing the payoff with be greater than the risk. Will you join me?

Leave a Reply

