I hate that abortion video, but haven’t seen it

There’s a little video going around Facebook that I’m assuming was taken at an abortion clinic, or is meant to look like it was.

To be honest, I’ve not watched it. The responses from my friends to it have been enough to warn me that it would trigger some things that I could live without.

What makes me sad, however, are the responses I read from Christians to it. The “I just don’t understand how anyone could choose this” or the “don’t these women know they are killing their baby?” To you I say: Praise God that you have never been so desperate that you would consider removing a part of yourself because the outcome of your choices seems too scary for you to handle. Thank God that you have never sat in a cold, sterile room with your eyes puffy and tear stained with full assurance that you have made the worst mistake of your life.

And please please know that not everyone who walks into an abortion clinic looks like I did when I made my choice. There are Dr.’s, lawyers, high school cheerleading captains, chess club leaders, teachers and the married woman who comes to your church regularly. Abortion isn’t just an issue for one demographic. The number of women who have had them are staggering and it transcends ethnicity and age.

But see, I have yet to know one woman whose mind has been changed because of our religious banter. I don’t think the “baby murderer” signs outside of the clinic are an effective way to help a woman who is desperate and hurting.

Do I want to see abortion end? Absolutely. Make no bones about it. I want to see these modern day institutions of torture go back to the pits where they came from because I know firsthand that they prey on women who are lost, confused and feel that there is no hope.

You see, as an adult now, some 16 years later, I would sit down with my scared, hurting, desperate self and warn that girl that there are options. I would hug her and tell her that she isn’t alone. That there is a Savior who came for little old her and not just the person “who has it together.” I would tell her that adoption is the harder road but it is the better option hands down. I would hug her like mad and assure her that there are good people desperate to love babies who are born in their hearts instead of their tummies.

I’m the woman in row number 5 of your churches who doesn’t look like the kind of woman that sits emotionally on “sanctity of life Sunday” knowing full well the consequences of her choices. I’m the woman who appreciates the babies who are with me and misses the one who was sent to heaven too early. I’m the one who is thankful that my son’s birth mom chose life for him because our family is blessed immensely by her selfless choice.

So I know it’s social media and it’s easy to be mean and judgmental from behind a computer screen or phone but maybe, just maybe, we show a little more grace and a little less judgement. Jesus came to seek and save the lost. The seek part would’ve been pretty hard if he always had to look down his nose to try and see us.

3 thoughts on “I hate that abortion video, but haven’t seen it

  1. This, dear one, is truth. May we always choose to love instead of judge and assume. The love of God speaks so much clearer than hate and judgment.

  2. i TRULY UNDERSTAND THE POINT OF VIEW BUT WHEN WE LOOK AROUND AND SEE HOW MUCH DAMAGE THE ENEMY IS CAUSING MY HEART GOES FOR THOSE WHO DO NOT HAVE A CHANCE TO KNOW THE WORD OF GOD. I TRULY FEEL BROKEN WHEN I HEAR OR SEE HOW HUMANITY IS TAKEN HUMANITY ITSELF AND BRAKE THEM TO THE END.

Leave a Reply

