20 seconds

20 seconds of insane courage has the power to change your life.

In the movie,  We Bought A Zoo, the main character (whose name currently escapes me) says something to the effect of just needing 20 seconds of insane courage.

The longer I journey through life, the more I see this to be true. God often calls us out of our comfort zone and into the “crazy.”

So many things haven’t made sense for us and yet we have watched miracle after miracle in our life as God sustains us in every aspect.

We moved to the Pottstown area 3 + years ago to start a satellite campus without knowing much about the area and only knowing 3 people at the church.  What we found was an incredible team of friends and cheerleaders who have journeyed with us on some of the most beautiful and some of the hardest times in our lives.

When our daughter was just 6 months old, God began stirring in us a call to adoption that we thought would happen much later on in life. It didn’t make sense at the time. Our youngest was, well… young. We had only one income. A Pastor’s salary! We didn’t even know all that much about adoption. We had ZERO dollars saved for it. It literally took 20 seconds of insane courage to begin the journey to our son and from the moment we said yes we watched God strategically align His people and resources to help us bring our son home.

I realize that didn’t turn out quite the way we had imagined BUT I am thankful that Elijah joined our family.  I am thankful for the immense blessing he was and how all of our hearts are softened because of him. I’m thankful that my 3 year old lovingly places her beautiful,  brown baby doll into a highchair and pretends she’s in a wheelchair. My girls don’t see needs, they see children and that is a lesson that Elijah taught all of us.

Another 20 seconds got me volunteering myself to become a Coach-Mentor for a soccer program when I knew nothing about soccer.  It was almost laughable, really. And yet, I knew God was opening the doors for me to do it. It made ZERO logical sense. I am the least athletic person I know and I didn’t have an interest in soccer. I did, however,  have an interest in the youth in our community and this has opened the door for our family to get to know some amazing people. I never would have met any of the kids or our team if I hadn’t thrown caution/logic to the wind and gone for it.

And so now, we begin another journey on another 20 seconds of insane courage. I can’t wait to share the details of that with you all soon!

But for now, I want to know what you would do if you could muster up your own 20 seconds of insane courage?  Whose life would you touch? What would you change?

2 thoughts on “20 seconds

Leave a Reply

