Our takeaways

Can I just be real here with you for a minute?  This year has been a whirlwind of insanity. Our whole lives were shaken up and our core beliefs were questioned at their very roots. But I believe God uses those times for our good!

Losing a child and choosing to walk away from a job because it was no longer the best fit for our family and our family was not the best fit for the job was pretty scary. When you have followed God to the very places you found tremendous loss then soul searching seems inevitable.

What I did find in the midst of all of this is:

1. God is still God even when He has seemingly led us to a place we don’t want to be. Even when the refining fire feels as if it will consume us and the trials feel as if they want to take us down,  God is still on His throne. He is still full of mercy, grace and most of all – His love for ME, for each of us, is pure and strong and THAT is what is truly all consuming. The rest pales in comparison.

2. God is not at all concerned with our creature comforts. The sum of all that God does stretches far beyond what my finite mind can comprehend. He sees the end from the beginning and has the good of the WHOLE in mind when working things out. My temporary, momentary satisfaction isn’t part of the equation because it changes like the tide.

3. His grace is sufficient. On the days when it all seems like it is crashing in and on the days when I’m feeling pretty on top of it- His love, grace and mercy are covering me and He is enough.

4. Joy trumps happiness. There is something about happiness that seems to evade me but I think I’m finally ok with that. This joy that is deep within my soul, that allowed me to worship with reckless abandon in the days after Elijah left his chair, rests within me. On a soul level, I understand that this life can offer so much more than mere happiness and some of those great lessons… some of the greatest fulfillment comes after great pain.

5. I can’t worry about what others think. No one is really losing sleep over what I’m doing so why should I lose sleep over what they think? My partner in this life is my husband and we make it a priority to talk and pray through decisions. As long as we are on the same page,  then I need not worry about what others think. That isn’t to say that we don’t seek Godly counsel but there are only a few who are able to speak into our lives. The true blue friends who have walked through the good, the bad and the ugly with us. Those people are worth their weight in gold to us and we are thankful for them. And the rest? They are well meaning and we love them but we refuse to live to please people but rather we live to love and serve Jesus.

These are a few of our takeaways from 2014. What are yours?

One thought on “Our takeaways

  1. What an awesome testimony. You will never know how many people you have helped by sharing and being real. I pray that God blesses you and yours with many blessings always. Love.

Leave a Reply

