One year ago today

One year ago today,  I landed in DC after a long 17 hour flight from Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

We sat next to the nicest professor who was originally from Uganda. He also happened to be hearing impaired so didn’t mind the little noises Elijah made in the least. He even asked to hold him for some of the trip.

LeAnne & I were exhausted. I had spent our last day in Ethiopia fighting with the airlines over getting Elijah a bassinet to stretch his stiff little body out. While they didn’t comply, we arrived early and begged people to switch with us so that we could not only sit together but got the aisle seat with the bassinet so he could travel as comfortably as possible for the long trip.

Right before we left the Ordinary Hero guest house,  I witnessed Elijah have a seizure. It was scary, overwhelmed me and made me worry about being in over my head. I cried and begged God to give us wisdom and me strength. My new friend Abby prayed with me and that prayer gave me the strength to make the journey home with my son.

I could hardly wait to get off of that plane. I so badly wanted to hug my girls and husband. I was gone for just shy of a week and was sorely missing them. I wanted to knock people down to get through customs, partly because he was 30 lbs broken down into 25 for his head & 5 for his body. (That may be an exaggeration but it didn’t feel that way on my poor back & I’m Puerto Rican so cut me some slack on the exaggerating thing).

When we finally finished and I turned the corner to see my family,  I sprinted over to meet them. Our party of 5 was complete and finally altogether in the best embrace of my life.

You know how the story ends but here’s why it was worth it… because my son was worth it. I will love him until the day I finally reunite with him in heaven and I’m sure the others in my family feel the very same way.

Elijah inspired a courage in us that we would NEVER had have if God hadn’t chosen us to be his family. I say we were chosen for him because he taught us way more than we could have ever taught him. His is a legacy of strength when the obstacles seem insurmountable, of love even when life has been cruel and of beating the odds, no matter what the “experts” say.
It is a privilege to be his Momma.

I pray that if you are reading this that you are encouraged to dream big, risk bigger and love with your entire being. You don’t know how the story will end but I can promise you that it is worth it!

image

image

image

image

One thought on “One year ago today

Leave a Reply

