Adversity

If there is one thing I learned about while Elijah was with us, it is that my job (especially as a Mom) is to advocate for my children. And when it comes to them I am relentless.

Why then, when adversity hits do I sometimes want to cower? Why do I worry that this next trial will be the one that takes me under? It’s a normal human reaction but exactly the wrong one.

In John 16:33, Jesus says “I have told you these things so that in Me you may have peace. You will have suffering in this world. Be courageous! I have conquered the world.” And in Psalm 27: 13-14 we find David saying, “I am certain that I will see the Lord’s goodness in the land of the living. Wait for the Lord; be strong  and courageous. Wait for the Lord.”

The suffering is promised but so is the fact that God wins. He sees us through. No matter the circumstances we can count on Him to change us, mold us, direct us and lead us.

God is a fiercer advocate than I could ever be because He sees my end from my beginning. He understands the BIG PICTURE and is working, not just for my own well being but that of those around me and those who I haven’t even met yet. That thought blows me away.

I just can not even fathom how big God is, but yet I somehow expect to understand what He is doing through every situation. Understanding may not come but trust can happen even where understanding is missing.

My children know that they can trust me even if they don’t fully get it. I’ve proven that much to them in their short time on Earth. How much more has God proven Himself to me?

This great big God that I serve has done “exceedingly more than I can ask or think” through situation after situation that I’ve found myself in. The ONLY logical response is for me to trust Him one more time.

So today, I choose belief over fear, trust over regret and love over all.

God is big enough and I surrender myself to whatever His plan is.

What about you? What situation are you glaring down that you need to surrender? It would be my privilege to pray for you!

As always, thank you for journeying with us!

Leave a Reply

