Refiner’s Fire

Malachi 3:3 NLT

He will sit like a refiner of silver, burning away the dross. He will purify… refining them like gold and silver…

I was having a hard day and I turned to God’s Word for comfort. I’ve been on this road long enough to know that any REAL comfort, the stuff that lasts and helps me get through the hard days comes straight from the Word of God.

And as I was asking for something, I looked up to see that A was watching a cartoon in which they were mining diamonds. And that immediately made me think of the scripture above in Malachi.

Purification of silver happens in the fire. Without the fire, those pieces wouldn’t be suitable for jewelry or anything else. They would remain in their natural state, covered in dirt and grime.

But oh, when the pieces are held in the fire for just the right amount of time they shine like the sun! They become valuable. The dross is burned away and they can be turned into something remarkable.

It is said that a silversmith knows that his piece is ready to come out of the fire when it shows his image. And isn’t that what we want to be said of our lives? That we are a true reflection of the One who has allowed the fire to burn away our dross?

I don’t like the fire. The heat, the smell, and what comes off me during that time can sometimes be downright ugly. But oh to properly reflect the beauty of my Savior! That makes the fire worth it.

Take heart,  Dear Ones. The fire doesn’t last forever but the reflection of His image sure does.

Leave a Reply

